4 of the 6-member SAIFTA jury members from South Africa,


With only five days to go until the inaugural SAIFTA (South Africa India Film and Television Awards) take place at the Durban ICC Arena, on Friday 6 September, the top five films and television series in both India and South Africa, have been announced.



A Lucky Man, directed by Gordon Clark

Die Wonderwerker, directed by Katrina Heyns

Little One, directed by Darell Roodt

Pretville, directed by Linda Korsten


7de Laan, Sasani Studio

Isidingo, Morula Pictures/Endemol

Binneland, Stark Films

Crimes Uncovered, Clive Morris Productions

Isibaya, Bomb Shelter

A South African jury was responsible for judging the South African films and the top 5 films from India (see attached list), were selected by the jury members from India.


The South African panel members are:

Welcome Msomi, Playwright, Producer, Director & Chairperson of The KZN Film Comission

Peter Rorvik, former director of the Durban International Film Festival, and The Centre for Creative Arts

Linda Bukhosini, CEO and Artistic Director, The Playhouse Company

Leleti Khumalo, Actress and radio personality

Caroline Smart, Living Legend Award-winner

Saira Essa, Television Producer

The jury members from India:

Farah Khan, Director

Waheeda Rehman,Actress

Shabana Azmi, Actor

Boman Irani, Actor

Mukesh Bhatt, Producer


SAIFTA is backed by the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Economic Development and Tourism, Tourism KwaZulu-Natal and Durban Tourism.

Tourism KwaZulu-Natal’s chief executive officer, Mr Ndabo Khoza, commented;  “Durban’s hosting of the SAIFTA’s for the next three years presents an exciting opportunity for Tourism KwaZulu-Natal to strategically leverage awareness of the province and its tourism offerings internationally, particularly within the Indian market, which continues to show tremendous growth potential. In 2010, the total number of outbound trips from India exceeded 12.5 million and in 2011 this grew by 11%”.  Outbound trips from India are expected to exceed 22 million per year by 2015. In 2012, KZN received a mere 2.4% of the over-100 000 Indian tourist arrivals into South Africa, which was valued to be in the order of 2.3 billion Rand. Tourism KwaZulu-Natal therefore has much to do in ensuring that KwaZulu-Natal becomes a key stop on the Indian traveller’s South African itinerary.

Mr Khoza added that Tourism KwaZulu-Natal will host a series of pre-SAIFTA educational tours around the province with itineraries designed specifically for the attending delegations of travel journalists, film producers, Bollywood celebrities and entertainment journalists respectively, providing TKZN the opportunity to further promote KZN as a leisure, business and film-making destination with the aim of ensuring that they return to India as ambassadors of the province.

Members of the public will be able to see their favourite stars arriving at King Shaka Airport this week.  The stars will address the welcoming crowd and there will be autograph opportunities:



EK AIRLINES (landing)  4.45pm:  Shalmali Kholgade


LANDING AT 10.30AM:  Mona Singh, Shilpa and Apoorva Agnihotri

SAA (landing)  11.00am: Rithvick Dhanjani and Asha Negi, Ravi Dubey and Sargun Mehta, Aamir Ali and Sanjeeda Shaikh

SAA (landing) 4.45pm: Dia Mirza, Madhuri Dixit, Siddarth Malhotra, Mukesh Bhatt, Waheeda Rehman


SAA (landing) 11.00am: Manish Paul, Elli Avram, Saurabh Varma, Mehta Apoorva, Amy Jackson

SAA (landing) 4.45pm: Karan Johar, Rucha Pathak

EK  AIRLINES (landing) 4.45pm: Manish Malhotra


SAA (landing) 11am:  Priyanka Chopra


Apart from the film awards, guests can expect a packed and vibrant entertainment programme featuring Bollywood stars acting, singing and dancing with local stars like Aaron McIlroy, Jailoshini Naidoo and Karen van Pletsen.

Local film stars attending include the likes of Jack Devnarain, Hennie Jacobs, Maurice Paige, Latoya Mangezi, Thembi Nyandeni, Nandi Mngoma, Vinette Abraham, Zethu Dlomo, Robert Whitehead and Donnalee Roberts.

Red carpet presenters are Tatum Keshwar and Simba Mhera. The event is billed to be one of the social occasions of the year.